

PRESS RELEASE

## Stars align at the Deutschland Tour

Frankfurt – 12 August 2019 - Grand Tour winners, more than a dozen Tour de France stage winners as well as World, European and national champions, Monument winners, cycling legends and up-andcoming youngsters – the Deutschland Tour brings together the sport's best. In addition to national top riders, like the German rising star of the Tour de France **Emanuel Buchmann**, current top sprinter **Pascal Ackermann** and Paris-Roubaix runner-up **Nils Politt**, a notable list of international pros was named in the provisional line-up of the 22 teams. The Deutschland Tour takes place from August 29 to September 1 leading from Hannover to Erfurt.

The number one of the UCI world ranking and one of the top stars of this year's Tour de France will start in Germany: Julian Alaphilippe. Together with teammate Remco Evenepoel, Deceuninck - Quick Step they have several cards to play. This year's route of the Deutschland Tour is full of opportunities that favors both riders. Team Ineos also presents a top team to the German fans. Tour de France second Geraint Thomas returns to the Deutschland Tour after the premiere last year. In addition, the team lines-up former world champion and winner of Milan-Sanremo Michal Kwiatkowski, who feels very comfortable with the classic-style profile of the race.

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) will race side-by-side with his future teammate Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo). Dan Martin (UAE-Team Emirates) will participate again in a German race for the first time since 6 years. On top, the complete podium of this year's edition of the Tour of Flanders will meet again at the Deutschland Tour. Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First) challenges Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck -Quick Step) and Alexander Kristoff (UAE-Team Emirates). For the flat stages, the fans can expect a true sprint royale: three-time stage winner of the Tour de France Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) is looking for a decision on the finish line facing Jasper Stuyen (Trek-Segafredo) and the German sprint stars.

Claude Rach, Managing Director of the Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Radsports: "The Deutschland Tour 2019 will bring together one of the best pelotons of this season. The exceptionally high level of teams and riders participating in the Deutschland Tour underlines the evolution of the race. After the promotion to the HC class, the great interest of both the WorldTeams and the German top stars, the announcement of numerous international key riders is the icing on the cake."

## 22 Teams and their Top Riders

(provisory start list, update 12 August 2019)

AG2R La Mondiale:	Nico Denz, Matthias Frank, Alexis Vuillermoz
Astana Pro Team:	Magnus Cort Nielsen
Bahrain – Merida:	Damiano Caruso, Vincenzo Nibali



## PRESS RELEASE

Bora – hansgrohe: CCC Team: Deceuninck - Quick-Step:

Education First: Lotto Soudal: Team Dimension Data: Team Ineos:

Team Jumbo – Visma: Team Katusha Alpecin: Team Sunweb: Trek – Segafredo: UAE Team Emirates:

Gazprom – RusVelo: Team Arkéa – Samsic: Wanty – Gobert Cycling Team:

Bike Aid: P&S Metalltechnik: Team Dauner – Akkon: Team Lotto – Kern Haus: Pascal Ackermann, Emanuel Buchmann Simon Geschke, Serge Pauwels Julian Alaphilippe, Kasper Asgreen, Remco Evenepoel, Yves Lampaert, Enric Mas Alberto Bettiol, Sacha Modolo Caleb Ewan, Roger Kluge, Jelle Vanendert Tom-Jelte Slagter Michal Kwiatkowski, Wout Poels, Pavel Sivakov, Geraint Thomas Paul Martens Nils Politt, Rick Zabel Lennard Kämna, Max Kanter Mads Pedersen, Richie Porte, Jasper Stuyven Alexander Kristoff, Dan Martin, Diego Ulissi

Evgeny Shalunov André Greipel Loïc Vliegen

Nikodemus Holler John Mandrysch Dominik Bauer Jonas Rutsch