

PRESS RELEASE

Two weeks until the Deutschalnd Tour: Top line-up announced

On August 23, the Deutschland Tour 2023 will begin with a prologue in St. Wendel and excitement is already growing. The 20 teams, including 14 teams from this year's Tour de France, have registered their provisional starters. Among them: four stage winners and the entire podium from last year.

Starting with a German premiere right with the short opening time trial: **Nils Politt** (BORA - hansgrohe) presents himself for the first time on home roads in the new time trial champion outfit. 12 months ago he was narrowly beaten in the prologue - maybe this time the championship title will inspire him on the winding loop through the city center of St. Wendel. In any case, only seconds on the 2.3 kilometers will decide the first day's victory and the competition is numerous. With **Maximilian Schachmann**, Deutschland Tour 2018 stage winner, it even comes from his own team.

The three riders who have decided the overall victory of the Deutschland Tour among themselves have also announced themselves for this year's classic course: **Adam Yates** (UAE Team Emirates), overall winner of the 2022 Deutschland Tour and Tour de France third, **Pello Bilbao** (Bahrain Victorious), second last year and stage winner of the Tour de France, as well as **Ruben Guerreiro** (Movistar Team) can already secure a good starting position for the overall classification on the first day. Or will Tour stage winner and former world champion **Mads Pedersen** (Lidl-Trek) manage a coup in St. Wendel?

Like Yates and Bilbao, **Caleb Ewan** (Lotto Dstny) and **Alexander Kristoff** (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team) have also won stages of the 2022 Deutschland Tour. The Norwegian has been successful in each of the past three editions and is looking to continue his streak. In addition to **Sam Bennett** (BORA - hansgrohe), the German riders around **Max Kanter** (Movistar Team), **Marius Mayrhofer** (Team dsm - firmenich), **Phil Bauhaus** (Bahrain Victorious) and **Pascal Ackermann** (UAE Team Emirates) will also be involved in the daily decisions. While Ackermann has already been successful in 2019 and 2021, Bauhaus has been stage runner-up several times and still has a score to settle with the tour taking place at home.

Georg Zimmermann (Intermarché - Circus - Wanty) shone in the last two years as the best young rider in the Deutschland Tour. He is currently riding the strongest season of his career so far, which was almost crowned with a stage win at the Tour de France. With this self-confidence and tailwind, he travels to the Deutschland Tour. Alongside **Rick Zabel**, **Chris Froome** is making a comeback to Germany after 2021. Israel - Premier Tech has nominated the four-time Tour de France winner along with veterans **Jakob Fuglsang** and **Domenico Pozzovivo**. The experienced trio looks together on no less than 50 professional seasons.

In addition to the established names on the scene, German talents will use the five days of racing through their homeland to draw attention to themselves. For riders like **Johannes Adamietz** (Lotto Dstny), a successful Deutschland Tour was the springboard to a professional contract. The German Continental teams offer 22 German riders the opportunity to present themselves - including **Tobias Nolde** (P&S Benotti), leader of the German Cycling League.



PRESS RELEASE ·

The list of 120 starters is preliminary. All teams can make changes to their squad in the next two weeks. The final starting list will be confirmed on August 23.

Selected riders of the Deutschland Tour 2023:

UCI WorldTeams

Alpecin – Deceuninck

Bahrain Victorious

Bora – hansgroheIneos Grenadiers

• Intermarché – Circus – Wanty

• Lidl – Trek

Movistar Team

Soudal Quick-Step

Team dsm – firmenich

UAE Team Emirates

UCI ProTeams

Israel – Premier Tech

Lotto Dstny

Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team

TotalEnergies

Tudor Pro Cycling Team

Uno-X Pro Cycling Team

UCI Continental Teams

Bike Aid

P&S Benotti

rad-net Oßwald

Saris Rouvy Sauerland Team

Quinten Hermans, Alexander Krieger

Pello Bilbao, Phil Bauhaus

Nils Politt, Maximilian Schachmann

Ethan Hayter, Michal Kwiatkowski

Lilian Calmejane, Georg Zimmermann

Mads Pedersen, Natnael Tesfatsion

Ruben Guerreiro, Max Kanter

Mauro Schmid, Jannik Steimle

Marius Mayrhofer, Kevin Vermaerke

Pascal Ackermann, Adam Yates

Chris Froome, Rick Zabel

Johannes Adamietz, Caleb Ewan

Matteo Moschetti, Nickolas Zukowsky

Mathieu Burgaudeau, Anthony Turgis

Arvid de Kleijn, Mika Heming

Alexander Kristoff, Rasmus Tiller

Vinzent Dorn, Dawit Yemane

Tobias Nolde, Jannis Peter

Vincent John, Tobias Müller

Dominik Bauer, Silas Koech