22 Teams and 132 Riders

With the maximum of 15 WorldTour teams, the Deutschland Tour enters into its second edition. Again, the world elite will be at the start of the four-day stage race, which takes place August 29 to September 1 and leads from Hannover to Erfurt.

Final starter's list

Last update: 28.08.2019

Stars align at the Deutschland Tour

Grand Tour winners, more than a dozen Tour de France stage winners as well as World, European and national champions, Monument winners, cycling legends and up-and-coming youngsters – the Deutschland Tour brings together the sport’s best. In addition to national top riders, like the German rising star of the Tour de France Emanuel Buchmann, current top sprinter Pascal Ackermann and Paris-Roubaix runner-up Nils Politt, a notable list of international pros was named in the provisional line-up of the 22 teams. The Deutschland Tour takes place from August 29 to September 1 leading from Hannover to Erfurt.

The number one of the UCI world ranking and one of the top stars of this year's Tour de France will start in Germany: Julian Alaphilippe. Together with teammate Remco Evenepoel, Deceuninck - Quick Step they have several cards to play. This year’s route of the Deutschland Tour is full of opportunities that favors both riders. Team Ineos also presents a top team to the German fans. Tour de France second Geraint Thomas returns to the Deutschland Tour after the premiere last year. In addition, the team lines-up former world champion and winner of Milan-Sanremo Michal Kwiatkowski, who feels very comfortable with the classic-style profile of the race.

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) will race side-by-side with his future teammate Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo). Dan Martin (UAE-Team Emirates) will participate again in a German race for the first time since 6 years. On top, the complete podium of this year’s edition of the Tour of Flanders will meet again at the Deutschland Tour. Alberto Bettiol (EF Education First) challenges Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck - Quick Step) and Alexander Kristoff (UAE-Team Emirates). For the flat stages, the fans can expect a true sprint royale: three-time stage winner of the Tour de France Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) is looking for a decision on the finish line facing Jasper Stuyen (Trek-Segafredo) and the German sprint stars.

Strong German riders will challenge the stars

With the maximum of 15 WorldTour teams, the Deutschland Tour enters into its second edition. Again, the world elite will be at the start of the four-day stage race, which takes place August 29 to September 1 and leads from Hannover to Erfurt. Three ProContinental teams and 4 German teams from the Continental division will complete the starting list.

Being a race on home-turf, the top-class peloton will be spearheaded by both German WorldTour outfits, Bora-hansgrohe and Sunweb. While Bora-hansgrohe is planning with a German fan special, lining-up sprint sensation Pascal Ackermann and Emanuel Buchmann - who placed fourth at the Tour de France - for the Deutschland Tour, Katusha Alpecin sets up a powerful team around Rick Zabel and Nils Politt, last year's stage winner and overall second of the Deutschland Tour.

Bahrain-Merida will look to defend the title, after Matej Mohoric won the first edition of the Deutschland Tour, and signed therefore powerful German additions with Marcel Sieberg and Phil Bauhaus. With Jumbo-Visma, Trek-Segafredo, CCC Team, AG2R La Mondiale, Lotto Soudal and Team Ineos many more teams, who have German riders in their ranks, will participate this year. Astana Pro Team, Deceuninck-Quick-Step, Education First, Team Dimension Data and UAE Team Emirates complete the star-studded team list.

The Teams of the Deutschland Tour 2019

22 Teams and their Top Riders

(Update: August, 12, 2019)


AG2R La Mondiale:Nico Denz, Matthias Frank, Alexis Vuillermoz
Astana Pro Team:Magnus Cort Nielsen
Bahrain – Merida:Damiano Caruso, Vincenzo Nibali
Bora – hansgrohe:Pascal Ackermann, Emanuel Buchmann
CCC Team:Simon Geschke, Serge Pauwels
Deceuninck - Quick-Step:Julian Alaphilippe, Kasper Asgreen, Remco Evenepoel, Yves Lampaert, Enric Mas
Education First:Alberto Bettiol, Sacha Modolo
Lotto Soudal:Caleb Ewan, Roger Kluge, Jelle Vanendert
Team Dimension Data:Tom-Jelte Slagter
Team Ineos:Geraint Thomas, Michal Kwiatkowski, Wout Poels, Pavel Sivakov, 
Team Jumbo – Visma:Paul Martens
Team Katusha Alpecin:Nils Politt, Rick Zabel
Team Sunweb:Lennard Kämna, Max Kanter
Trek – Segafredo:Mads Pedersen, Richie Porte, Jasper Stuyven
UAE Team Emirates:Alexander Kristoff, Dan Martin, Diego Ulissi
Gazprom – RusVelo:Evgeny Shalunov
Team Arkéa – Samsic:André Greipel
Wanty – Gobert Cycling Team: Loïc Vliegen
Bike Aid:Nikodemus Holler
P&S Metalltechnik:John Mandrysch
Team Dauner – Akkon:Dominik Bauer
Team Lotto – Kern Haus: Jonas Rutsch


ProContinental- and Continental challenge the WorldTour Teams

The Tour de France teams Wanty-Gobert and Arkéa-Samsic around experienced sprinter André Greipel, as well as Gazprom-RusVelo are the selected international teams from the ProContinental division. Besides, four German Continental teams (Bike Aid, Dauner-Akkon, Lotto-Kern Haus, P&S Metalltechnik) qualified for starting side by side with the World’s best as the sustainable promotion of cycling in Germany is a cornerstone of the Deutschland Tour.